MINUTES OF THE REORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES of the

COPIAGUE MEMORIAL PUBLIC LIBRARY

held June 28, 2023

at

Copiague Memorial Public Library, 50 Deauville Boulevard, Copiague, New York

PRESENT:

Christopher R. O'Connell, President Joanne C. Kirshner, Vice President Edward T Mutchnick, Secretary/Treasurer Heather A. Sattler, Trustee Artie Martin, Trustee Kenneth S. Miller, Director Mary Ann Friend, Business Manager B'Ann P. Roth, Secretary

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

The meeting was called to order by Christopher R. O'Connell at 7:01 p.m.

II. NOMINATION OF MEETING CHAIRPERSON

On a motion by Edward I. Mutchnick, seconded by Joanne C. Kirshner, voted on and carried unanimously, Heather A. Sattler was nominated as Chairperson of the meeting.

III. NOMINATION FOR OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

A. FOR THE OFFICE OF PRESIDENT

Edward I. Mutchnick nominated Christopher R. O'Connell. The nomination was seconded by Joanne C. Kirshner. There being no other nominations, Christopher R. O'Connell was elected President of the Board of Trustees, unanimously.

B. FOR THE OFFICE OF VICE PRESIDENT

Edward I. Mutchnick nominated Joanne C. Kirshner. The nomination was seconded by Eileen M. O'Connell. There being no other nominations, Joanne C. Kirshner was elected Vice President of the Board of Trustees, unanimously.

C. FOR THE OFFICE OF SECRETARY/TREASURER

Joanne C. Kirshner, nominated Edward I. Mutchnick. The nomination was seconded by Heather A. Sattler. There being no other nominations, Edward I. Mutchnick was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the Board of Trustees, unanimously.

NOMINATIONS CLOSED

IV. VOTE ON NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

The Officers present, whose nominations were voted on and carried unanimously, then assumed their respective offices:

President Christopher R. O'Connell

Vice President Joanne C. Kirshner Secretary/Treasurer Edward I. Mutchnick

V. MOTION TO ADOPT EXISTING BY LAWS

On a motion by Edward I. Mutchnick, seconded by Joanne C. Kirshner, voted on and carried unanimously, the existing bylaws and policies were adopted.

VI. MOTION TO APPOINT

A. BOARD ATTORNEY

On a motion by Joanne C. Kirshner, seconded by Edward I. Mutchnick, voted on and carried unanimously, the Board appointed Kevin A. Seaman as Board Attorney at an annual retainer of \$23,500.00.

B. LIBRARY TREASURER

On a motion by Edward I. Mutchnick, seconded by Artie Martin, voted on and carried unanimously, the Board appointed Diana Stein as Library Treasurer at an annual salary of \$13,850.00.

C. DEPOSITORY INSTITUTIONS

On a motion by Edward I. Mutchnick, seconded by Joanne C. Kirshner, voted on and carried unanimously, the Board approved the following banks for the deposit of moneys, and the maximum amount which may be kept on deposit at any time: <u>Depositary Name</u> First National Bank of Long Island TD Bank, N.A. Maximum Amount \$4,000,000 \$1,000,000

D. OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

On a motion by Heather A. Sattler, seconded by Edward I. Mutchnick, voted on and carried unanimously, the Board designated the Amityville Record and the Babylon Beacon as official newspapers for the Copiague Memorial Public Library.

VII. ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Joanne C. Kirshner, seconded by Heather A. Sattler, voted on and carried unanimously, the meeting was adjourned.

MEETING ADJOURNED: 7:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

B'Ann P. Roth Secretary